Green Smoothies for Winter #2

Yesterday went rather well for a Monday.  I credit the green smoothie for breakfast.  It jump started a healthy eating day.  Well, that is with the exception of the Pepsi that was left in the fridge that I had with dinner.  Anyway, in the effort to rebuild my healthy routine and a sense of adventure again in the kitchen I had a green smoothie again this morning.  Today’s winter smoothie was an apple pie smoothie.  It is much better than I was expecting. I was much more nervous about this one.  My apprehension likely had something to do with thinking about apples as sauce or crunchy juicy pieces of fruit.  Or, maybe it had something to do with the fact that all the recipes I Googled  sounded absolutely yucky.  I didn’t follow any of those recipes.  I made my own.

Recipe – Apple Pie green smoothie:

1 peeled cored & roughly cubed apple

squeeze of lemon juice or sprinkle of citric acid powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 – 3/4 tsp ground ginger (I like ginger, a lot, so I probably put in closer to 1 tsp but do it to your own preference. You could even replace ginger all together with some nutmeg, cloves, or all spice.  Make the recipe your own.)

1  C milk of choice (Today I used plain coconut milk.)

handful of fresh spinach

drizzle of honey to preference

Blend to liquify

Tip: Do not let this get warm.  Drink immediately for best taste. 

 

Wonder what I should try next.  Pear & ginger, maybe?

 

Keep chasing perfection, people. Eventually we’re going to catch excellence.

Create some conversation.

