Daily – Training & Food (Yesterday & Today)

Yesterday 

Daily

It was the 4th of July.  I had lots of fun stuff planned.  Life sort of crapped on them.  I tried to resist the urge to crawl back into my bed where it was cool and hide for the remainder of the day.  I was successful at that but by the time Supportive Husband Guy got home from work I was in desperate need of a good sweat and elevated heart rate to force out the weight of the day.

Training

Half-marathon training was a rest day.  I didn’t run.  It was super hot so I sure wasn’t complaining about not running.

Insanity was a tough one.  I was literally flinging sweat across the living room during some of the kicks.  The routine confirmed that my knees really are not in any better condition than when I was playing soccer in college.  Squat thrust type things still cause pain.  I had to modify those movements to still get the workout but eliminate any pain.

Food

breakfast: coffee with raw honey and whole milk, small smoothie, 16 oz lemon water & supplements

snack: bagel w/ cream cheese, lox, fresh spinach & half a grapefruit

lunch: chicken BLT and half an apple

dinner:   fish, brown rice & green beans

snack: frozen yogurt & ww waffle sandwich

Today

Daily

Today started out hot.  When I woke up around 7:30 it was already above 80 degrees.  It’s supposed to get to record temps again today.  I can tell it’s been hotter than usual this year earlier and longer than usual  because 90 degrees is starting to feel nice.

Training

Half-marathon training was supposed to be a 30 minute run with a 3:1 run/walk ratio.  I was supposed to get up at 6 am to run.  I did neither.  However, I didn’t ditch my running work out entirely.  I just modified it because of staying up too late watching the Philadelphia Union have an amazing and well deserved win against the LA Galaxy, needing to beat the heat and knowing I can’t push my left shin too hard.  I went to the gym.  Thank you Golds Gym for being cooler than outside!  I used the elliptical for 30 minutes incrementally increasing the resistance so it wasn’t too easy and sustaining a challenging level for two increments of 5 minutes and then tapering off again.  It felt good.  According to the machine I completed about 2.7 miles in my 30 minutes.

Insanity is tonight.  I suspect we are going to sweat our faces off again and I’ll be spraying the living room with my sweat once more.  Truthfully I’m starting to like it.  I’m finding my groove and learning how I can modify some of the exercise to meet my specific needs while still getting results.

Food

breakfast: coffee with raw honey and whole milk, large smoothie, 16 oz lemon water & supplements

snack: bagel w/ cream cheese, lox, fresh spinach & half a grapefruit, 16 oz lemon water

lunch: chicken BLT and half an apple, 16 oz lemon water

snack: hard-boiled egg, cheese stick, 1 serving pretzels, 1/2 C fresh blueberries, 16. 0z lemon water

dinner: skin removed Rotisserie chicken breast with side salad of leaf lettuce, banana peppers, cherry tomatoes, Italian dressing, 16 oz lemon water

snack: We had a soccer team meeting at Dairy Queen. I had a medium twist cone dipped in chocolate. During Insanity I had 30 oz lemon water.

Create some conversation.

