Delicious Dishes – My current healthy favorites

Holidays really crash all my good intentions. Eventually I’ll have the strength to say “no thank you” to some of the offerings that used to be comfort foods but for now I’ll just go with a reboot. In the spirit of reclaiming a way of eating that fills me, energizes me and makes me feel good I have decided to share some of my current favorites. This will likely become a recurring topic. I truly love food. So delicious!

Breakfast: Almond Chia Oatmeal with Cranberries

It feels unfair to call this oatmeal because oatmeal can sound so boring but this is truly a delicious filling healthy breakfast. I make a quart mason jar full so it is a quick breakfast that requires very little measuring pre-coffee. Very important to keep things simple pre-coffee.

Recipe – Almond Chia, Oatmeal with Cranberries

1 quart sized mason jar

Layer the jar with the following:

1/2 C Old Fashioned Oats (I use old fashioned oats for a few reasons. One of them being that it takes longer for them to cook which allows the cranberries to re-hydrate more and become plump and juicy.)

1/4 C Chopped Almonds (I use a small food processor and crush/grind up whole raw almonds, at least 1C for filling the jar. Usually I grind up more because I also use the almonds in the granola my family eats like candy.)

1 TBSP Chia seeds

1/4 C Dried Cranberries (or quantity of your choosing)

I repeat the layering until the jar is full. Then I shake the jar to mix it all together. I wish I had thought to take a picture of the layered jar. It just looks pretty.

To prepare:

1 C water

pinch of sea salt

pat of butter (optional)

tsp or so of maple syrup (optional)

1/2 C of Almond Chia Oatmeal with Cranberries

Heat until the cereal reaches your preferred consistency.

There are so many possible variations of this. Have fun with it. I ran out of dried cranberries this morning when I made it so next week I’ll be making it with dried diced apple instead and using raw honey instead of maple syrup.

Drink: Honey Lemon Green Tea

I am in love with this stuff.  I brew about a gallon at a time and then put it into recycled wine bottles to put in the fridge.  The wine bottles are completely unnecessary but makes if feel more special than a plastic pitcher.  It looks pretty in the fridge too.

I make mine with 6 Green Tea bags, juice of one lemon and a tablespoon or so of honey.

I’ve also started to turn this into a sport drink. It’s still in the testing stages.  I’ll let you know if its a keeper in a week or so.

Dinner:  Roasted Root Veggies and Asparagus

This is a huge hit in our house.  Even Crazy Loveable Kids gobble this up in a blink.  Best part for me, there is no real recipe to follow.  It is so easy and provides so many variations.  Below you can find last night’s version.

Recipe – Wednesday Night’s Roasted Root Veggies

5 red potatoes sliced like french fries (This particular cut isn’t important.  I chose to cut them that way because it allows the potatoes to cook as quickly as the asparagus.  You could just as easily cube them.)

2 sweet potatoes sliced like french fries

bunch of asparagus

half an onion roughly quartered

2 cloves garlic

drizzle of olive oil

generous sprinkle of basil

quartered lemon (Squeeze the juice from the quarters over the veggies and then toss the lemon on top.)

salt if preferred

Spread out and roast at 400 degrees or so for roughly 30 minutes or until cooked through and roasty looking. (Yes, I made up the word “roasty”. )

This is really delicious when sprinkled with Parmesan cheese upon removing from the oven.  Supportive Husband Guy and Crazy Loveable kids had this with roasted pork but I was not in the mood for meat last night.  Even without the meat this dish is very filling.  I actually prefer sprinkling loose or coin sliced sausage over the veggies.  The picture below is from before I spread it out in the roasting pan.  I actually prep this dish in the morning and let it marinate until dinner.  Makes putting together a complete meal at dinner much quicker if I can get the prep done in the morning.

 Keep chasing perfection, people.  Eventually we’re going to Catch Excellence.

Create some conversation.

