Tackling the Treadmill

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.”

~ Aristotle

TODAY’S ACTIVITY: RUNNING

Thursdays are quickly become my personal version of Monday.  They start off busy then get busier and then the day is over and I don’t think I’ve accomplished anything so I end up working at night after crazy wonderful children go to sleep.  Yesterday wasn’t any different.  Except!  I didn’t let the business and the grey rainy weather keep me from my work out.

Instead of caving into the desire to curl up on my big red couch under a blanket with a hot cup of mint green tea and a comforting book, I took my tired, stressed out butt to the gym. It was the best thing I could have done for how my day went.  Not only did I rock my work out but I kicked out that grumpy attitude I was fighting too.  You know, the one you get when nothing is going as planned and everyone is oblivious and innocently gets under your skin.  No, not familiar with it?

WHAT I ACTUALLY DID.

Treadmill – walk/run

5 minutes walking warm up on treadmill, increasing speed each minute – 10 minutes of running at a 10 minute mile pace – 5 minutes of quick walking for a rest – 10 minutes of running at a 10 minute mile pace – 5 minute cool down decreasing speed until I was walking slowly again

Being very confident in myself because of the awesome not passing out or falling off the treadmill and letting go of the hand rails to actually run I moved over to the bike.

Stationary bike – cycling

15 minutes of “Fat Burn” setting  – 3 minute cool down  For the sake of full disclosure.  I accidentally offended Supportive Husband Guy when I commented about the “Fat Burn” program on the bike.  I am sorry.  I certainly was feeling the burn this morning when I was getting the kids ready for school.

TODAY’S FOOD.

Breakfast

-coffee with raw milk & honey

-green smoothie

Snack

– missed it

Lunch

-veggie soup

-water no lemon

Snack

-baked veggie chips with roasted red pepper hummus

-green tea

Dinner

-whole wheat pasta tossed with roasted pepper, artichokes, olives and red wine vinegar

-water no lemon

Snack

-apple with scoop of peanut butter

Create some conversation.

