Gym Swim

Image

Today’s Activity: Swimming

Swimming at a gym is going to take some getting used to for me.  I am very accustomed to having an entire pool to myself at my parent’s home.  Yes, i usually have to dodge three erratic swimmers but I know them and usually they are not a problem.

In a gym pool I have to figure out which lanes are open.  Can we share a lane?  Who is likely to be getting out?  If I pause will someone think I am finished?  Then there is the whole talking to other people aspect.

I’m a reserved focused person when it comes to my work out.  I don’t mean to be snobbish to others at the gym but I cannot easily make small talk and really get into my work out.  I find it distracting and I get frustrated.  I stepped out of that comfort zone today.  It is going to take some getting used to on my part.

What I actually did.

10 minutes breaststroke  –  1 minute break  –  10 minutes of freestyle with a 15 second break between every 4 laps  –  4 minute cool down

Freestyle is really kicking me.  It’s working my shoulders more than I expect.  I love breaststroke though and I might actually be faster at it.  Soon here I’m going to have to figure out which stroke or plan of attack I’m going to take with the swimming portion of the competition.

Speaking of the competition, a guy actually asked if there was a triathlon soon because of the number of people in the pool this week.  Less than 30 days left to train!

Today’s Food:

Breakfast

-coffee with raw milk and honey

– green smoothie (raw milk, pineapple, spinach, banana, strawberries)

Snack

-oatmeal with dried berries and a sprinkle of spices

-water with lemon

Lunch

-vegetable soup

-water with lemon

Snack

-sliced apple with tablespoon of peanut butter

Dinner

– roasted mixed vegetables (asparagus, potato, sweet potato, carrots, onion, lemon, garlic and a small sprinkle of Parmesan cheese)  Dinner was delicious and I am absolutely doing it again.

-green tea with lemon and drizzle of honey

One response to “Gym Swim

  1. I hope you enjoyed the swim: thank goodness for full-body wetsuits because I get to swim and paddle, when I’m surfing,Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Create some conversation.

