Mini-goals acheived

I’ve always found that anything worth achieving will always have obstacles in the way and you’ve got to have that drive and determination to overcome those obstacles on route to whatever it is that you want to accomplish.
-Chuck Norris

This particular post is a little late but after today’s performance needs to be posted.  I have achieved and surpased all three of my initial mini-goals.

My first mini-goal is to run the full 20-minute time with confidence and not panting. I’m working toward that goal by doing half of it at first then I will up it as I move forward.

Done!  Within the first two weeks I was able to run 20 minutes.  I have no idea how far I ran during those twenty minutes but I did it.  Then not realizing how far I had run in 20 minutes I decided to up the run time to 30 minutes.  This is where I surpassed my goal.  I ran on the Thun section of the Schuylkill River Trail a few runs ago and covered a total distance over 10K by pure ignorance.  Now, I didn’t do the whole distance running.  I included my warm up and cool down in that total distance but still!  I am very proud of that.  I was also really feeling the hurt the following day.  I originally thought it was the result of the switch to barefoot style running but I know now after tracking my run it was the distance more than the running style.   Today, I covered 6.75K in 45 minutes.  That is 45 minutes of running at pace.  Both the distance and the time did not include warm-up or cool- down.  It did include climbing over three down trees from the storm this past weekend.

New Mini-Goal for Running: 10K in 1HR

My second mini-goal is to swim the full 10-minutes with confidence and not drowning.

Done! This was accomplished within the first two-three weeks as well.  I did the 10 minutes but then upped it to 20.  Clearly I did not drown since I’m sitting here typing this.  This particular goal poses an extra challenge though.  Until I decide on a gym with a pool I don’t know how I will sustain this success.  I am placing all my hope on overall fitness to carry this success through until I have a gym picked out and the income to commit to that gym through a membership.

New Mini-Goal for Swimming: 30 minutes strong freestyle swim with a focus on distance covered in time as I close in on this goal.

The third mini-goal is to cycle the full 30-minutes strong and without having wobbly fall down the stairs legs when finished.

I admitted this was a cake goal when I originally made it.  I still confess to this being too easy a goal.  I achieved this the second ride out after starting training.  I think the key for setting the next cycling goal is to focus on speed over distance.  However, I am going to do a bit of research before I commit to a new mini-goal for cycling.  Until I have a new goal I am simply going to keep on cycling on they days I can and try to cover more distance each time I’m out in thirty minutes.

 

So there we have it.  I’ve reached the first marker and I feel good about it in all three areas.  I’m chasing perfection but I’m catching up to excellence much quicker than I expected.

Create some conversation.

