Catch Excellence

“Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence.” – Vince Lombardi

I never much liked Vince Lombari quotes when I was an athlete.  I had a coach in college who started every team meeting with a different Lombardi quote.  I don’t know if it was the coach or the quotes but they never did much to motivate me.  Usually I had enough of my own drive to do that.  Now that life as moved on and I’ve got my attention pulled into more directions than I can usually track I find some of them rather impacting.  I’m not seeking to be perfect.  Greek goddess physique is not what I am after and what that perfection looks like is different for everyone.  No, I am attempting to catch excellence.  If I set the bar any lower than that for myself then I’ll decide the bar isn’t much worth reaching for anymore.

This is my return to health.  I was always athletic.  I was that child who did multiple sports at one time.  I could not sit still.  It was quite intentional that my parents enrolled me in gymnastics when I was 5 and then soccer and then track and then I played basketball.  When soccer was no longer an option I tried field hockey.  Eventually my love for soccer could not be distracted and my parents fought for the creation of a girls’ soccer team in my high school.  Even without sports I was active.  Somewhere along the way I lost focus.  I’m returning that focus.

It is my intention to blog every day about what I eat, what physical activity I do and, because I am not perfect, my shortcomings as well.  While I desire to catch excellence my more tangible goal is an indoor triathlon on February 25th 2012.

This journey will officially begin on Tuesday August 2nd 2011.  This gives me 209 days to prepare for the indoor triathlon and a few days to not prepare too.  The timing also nicely fits into my memories of preseason for soccer.  It’s a miserable time of the year in Pennsylvania to be active outside but it will work for me.

Create some conversation.

